Speech! Speech!

Standard

All of a sudden, my baby has started talking. I had previously been a little worried about her speech, other babies we know (and of course I have known through my work) were much more experimental with their sounds by her age, whereas Daisy had only a stock selection of sounds: ya yayaya, mmmama, daddaa…her first word apart from Mama, was ‘Yes’ and she spoke that quite some time ago.

But then, gradually, she began to use the words in context and to respond to my questions with Yes or No, meaning what she said.

Then she said ‘shoes’. Then ‘Cat’ and ‘car’. Thinking this lovely but not necessarily deliberate, on we pottered, until she said the words in their appropriate uses … ‘Car’ when we were getting in to the car, ‘shoes’ when she went and got her boots because I said we were going out…

And this weekend, to her repertoire she has added:

House
Sausage
Chair
Thank You
Baby
Hello
Book
Om-boo (tombiliboo for those of you familiar with ‘In the night garden’)
Dais (her home-name)

It is amazing to me, still, after all of the children I have known and looked after how fast she can learn. She is a delight! My baby.

About letterstodaisy

I am 30s-ish Year old woman. I'm married to Paul. I am a part-time Nursery Officer and have previously held posts such as Breastfeeding Coordinator, Deputy Nursery Manager and Asylum Caseworker. As well as working, I volunteer as a parenting mentor in Morecambe and Lancaster. I’m a mother of two, my daughters Daisy Elizabeth and Audrey Evelyn. I hold an MA from York and am a qualified EYP. I love children and cherish their learning and their rights. We live on the border between south Lakes and north Lancashire. I write poetry and this blog and can’t read “Peepo” without crying.

One response »

  1. And I would add, she listens to the sounds of the garden, and
    “Coo coo cooo” is a woodpigeon
    “KoK KoK” is a strutting pheasant
    And the puddles in the lane…as she sat in them…
    “wet! wet!”
    Gwanny x

Leave a comment